Saturday, May 23, 2009

The Rain Came Down... and the Floods Came Up

My next stop is Florida. I was to stay at my friends house in Ormond Beach... but that wasn't going to happen. On Wednesday when I was in Atlanta, I got a call from my friend saying that they were leaving their house to head to her mom's. They had been getting rain for 2 days non-stop. Their house was flooded and they were not going to be able to get back in, at all, for at least a couple days. I ended up having to get a hotel, but it worked out well. My friends were able to stay with me and her mom's house was a bit quieter for a while. On Friday morning, we got up and headed for Se@W0rld. It was pretty nice in the morning. I headed straight for M@nt@ first thing. It is a new coaster there. It is pretty cool. I will try to get some pictures of it later. Then it started raining... and rained, and rained and rained... get the idea. We tried to go see the Shamu show early in the afternoon but while they were trying to wait out the storm before starting the show, the storm just kept getting worse. The wind was blowing and the rain was blowing in on us. We were SOAKED! We eventually saw Shamu. It was a great, exhausting day. We ate and headed back to the hotel. Today, Saturday, we checked out of the hotel and headed back to her mom's house. Her mom just recently got horses and we went out and fed the horses carrots and apples. It was a great visit even though it didn't go exactly as planned. As of today, they are unsure of when or if they will be moving back into the house. At one point there was at least 6 inches of water throughout the house. There will be a lot of repairs that will need to be done. They hope to get in on Sunday and try to salvage some things. They are very fortunate, they have a neighbor who's house didn't flood and they have been able to keep an eye on the house and did get some things out of the house for them already. Apparently, their house was on the news yesterday and this morning, their house was on the front page of their local paper.

Coke... adds life

I know, it's been awhile since I posted but it has been a little crazy. I made it to Nashville on Monday and just relaxed there and went to the Grand Ole Opry museum. Then I hit the road and headed toward Georgia. It was nice as it was a short drive. That night, my friend and I watched movies and I crashed way too early. We got up on Wednesday and headed for Atlanta to visit the World of Coc@-Col@. It was pretty neat. They have aa large collection of C0ke memoribilia and a mini bottling plant. As you go out you can taste c0ke products from all over the world. It was interesting to say the least. On your way out you get a free 8oz. bottle of C0ke. It was a long day and we headed back to her house. That night we stayed up late watching movies and chatting. It was a great visit and I look forward to visiting again. I will post pictures later this week.

Monday, May 18, 2009

Finally a Post With Pictures

Is it bad that 2 days without internet has put me into withdrawl? Fortunately for me, my hotel has wireless I finally have an opportunity to catch up on here a bit.

I started out on Saturday morning. The first day was pretty rough mostly because the wind was really blowing. Plus eastern Colorado and Kansas doesnt' have a whole lot of appeal. I arrived at my friends house in Kansas City just before they put their little girl Emma to bed. We got up on Sunday morning and got ready for the baseball game. A friend of theirs wanted to celebrate his birthday by taking in a KC Royals game. I tagged along... We headed down early and tailgated with hot dogs, hamburgers, chips... the typical tailgating foods. They renovated the ball park recently. They have an area with put-put golf, a carousel, etc. I'm not exactly a baseball fan and I had more fun playing with Emma. It was really great cause they had a deal on tickets, where each ticket purchased in the package came loaded with $10 to spend at the concessions. Also it was Build-@-Be@r day and the first 15,000 kids got a cute little stuffed lion. I thought it was really funny, during one of the TV time-outs (where they take a time out so they can air commercials on the televised game) they had a hot dog race. They have those at games I've been to back home. They have little animated characters that race... This one they had actual people dressed up as hot dogs, racing on the field.

It was hilarious. Emma had a blast at the game too. She thought it was great to have a seat all to herself.

After the game we went and visited Kari's mom and step-dad. They took us out to dinner. It was great! Here's all 4 of us the last evening I was there... before Emma fell asleep on the way back home.

I only saw them for a short time before they had to head off to work. I do get to visit for one night on my way home. It was really great to visit them. I don't get to see them near enough.

Tonight I am in Nashville and since I have a short drive tomorrow, I am planning on getting some rest tomorrow and even do a little sightseeing around Nashville.

Saturday, May 16, 2009

Okay so the last post was a tweet and i acidentally sent it here instead. No internet here so this is short and sweet. I will try to get a regular post up tomorrow with pictures. I should be able to post tuesday for sure though. We are going to a baseball game tomorow. Should be pretty fun!
Getting ready to get some sleep after a long day of driving. It's good to see friends though.

Friday, May 15, 2009

I Leave Tomorrow People

And I am not ready. That is not good. Really all I have to do is finish packing and load the car. The problem is, I am notorious for staying up till the wee hours of the morning packing. I really don't want to do that considering I have to be alert to drive. I am going to stop and see my grandparents and cousins on the way home from work tonight and then I will be going hom eto do nothing but pack and load. I will be glad when I am all ready to go and can hit the road with no fuss in the morning. I am messing around trying to see if I can get pictures to post here by text. I know I can post messages but pictures don't seem to be working right. I will try my best to post here along the way. I am really looking forward to it and can't wait to be able to catch up with some old friends.

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

2 Weeks

I have 2 weeks to go and I finally have my itinerary set! 2 weeks and only ONE night in a hotel. That's it! I am going to see friends I haven't seen in years and I am hoping to get together for dinner with one more!

Friday, April 24, 2009

I Finally Got Something Done

I finally got off my duff and got some things done. Granted, they were just phone calls that I made. I did make a slight change to my plans. I had thought about spending a couple nights on the North Carolina coast but while looking for hotels, I decided to not do that and save a bit of money. No I just need someplace to stop between Eastern TN and Kansas City. I don't want to have that long of a drive in one day. I am going to take a couple days before I decide on anything. Wahoo! I am finally seeing some progress. I am wanting to get some new tunes for the trip. What are your favorite road tunes?

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

I need to stop procrastinating!

So, I have known I was taking this trip for sometime. Why am I still not ready for it? Don't get me wrong I am really looking forward to it, however, I have things I need to get done before I leave and I am just 3 weeks away from leaving, and I haven't even started getting these things done! I need to figure out for sure where I am staying on a couple stops, I need to figure out my budget... oh my! And now, what I am doing? Just talking about what I need to do instead of doing it. Alright, I need to get on the ball. I have a couple phone calls to make, I will try to get those done tomorrow afternoon/evening. I need to go on a shopping trip to get food/drinks etc for the trip. I will probably do that in a couple weeks cause I don't want to do that too soon. So starting tomorrow I will start getting myself together and get things done!

Thursday, March 26, 2009

I'm Going on a Road Trip!

I am so excited about this trip. I have wanted to do this for some time now then the gas prices skyrocketed... But then they finally dropped and I decided I better go for it before they go way up again. Here I am in a couple months I'm hitting the road. I pretty much have my itinerary set and I will get it posted here in the next few days. I just have to set up a couple hotel rooms and I am set. So come along and join me!